Felix Hernandez Wins Cy Young, Sabathia Takes 3rd

There was a lot of debate leading up to this because of his win-loss record, but Felix Hernandez of the Seattle Mariners ultimately took home the American League Cy Young Award.

David Price of the Tampa Bay Rays took second and our own CC Sabathia came in third place.

Hernandez had the worst record of the three at 13-12, but lead them in ERA, complete games, innings, strikeouts, walks, WHIP, BB/9, K/9, and K/BB. Pretty much every single stat except win total and winning percentage.

Price was out in front of Sabathia in winning percentage, ERA, shutouts, and K/9. Sabathia only had him beat in total wins, innings, walks, strikeouts and BB/9.

Despite the debate, there really was no reason to think that Hernandez wouldn’t win save for antiquated ways of thinking.

Here is the overall voting:

About Rob Abruzzese

Rob Abruzzese created Bronx Baseball Daily in 2008 just before graduating from Brooklyn College. He currently serves BBD as its editor and works as a reporter at the Brooklyn Daily Eagle. Follow Rob on Twitter @RobAbruzzese.

This entry was posted in Yankees News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Felix Hernandez Wins Cy Young, Sabathia Takes 3rd

  1. Mindkind says:

    Hey I'm all Yankees all the time and I would have loved it if Sabathia won, but I really can't complain with this decision. Congratulations to Feliz Hernandez.

Comments are closed.