Gardner Wins Fielding Bible Award for Best Left Fielder

Brett Gardner won The Fielding Bible’s Award for best left fielder beating out the Rays left fielder Carl Crawford by a healthy 10 points.

Gardner played a stellar left field while racking up a MLB’s best 22.3 UZR and 39.7 UZR/150. Crawford checked in at 18.5 and 21.2 respectively.

Other Yankees recieving votes were first baseman Mark Teixeira who came in fourth place, Robinson Cano who came in sixth, Alex Rodriguez who came in 15th, Curtis Granderson who came in eighth, Javier Vazquez who came in 14th, and Andy Pettitte who came in 17th.

The winners: Daric Barton of the A’s at first, Chase Utley of the Phillies at second, Evan Longoria of the Rays at third, Troy Tulowitzki of the Rockies at short, Michael Bourn of the Astros in center, Ichrio Suzuki in right, Yadier Molina of the Cardinals at catcher, and Mark Buehrle of the White Sox on the mound.

About Rob Abruzzese

Rob Abruzzese created Bronx Baseball Daily in 2008 just before graduating from Brooklyn College. He currently serves BBD as its editor and works as a reporter at the Brooklyn Daily Eagle. Follow Rob on Twitter @RobAbruzzese.

This entry was posted in Yankees News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gardner Wins Fielding Bible Award for Best Left Fielder

  1. But I was told by Rob Neyer that the Yankees don't care about defense.

  2. af says:

    Good defense = beautiful baseball

  3. smurfy says:

    Mo deserves an honorable mention for skipping a broken bat while knocking the ball down, then throwing out the batter.

Comments are closed.