Cano and Teixeira win Gold Glove Awards

The Gold Glove winners were announced tonight and two Yankees, Robinson Cano and Mark Teixeira, took home some hardware. It was Cano’s second Gold Glove and Teixeira’s fifth and third with the Yankees. Russell Martin was also a finalist, but he lost out to Matt Wieters.

The Gold Gloves have a pretty bad reputation these days. The problem is that it is chosen by the managers who can be bias and might not get to see deserving players enough to fully evaluate them (I mean, how can Mike Trout not win this year?). As a result the award often goes to players based on popularity which is why Derek Jeter has five of them.

This is why the Fielding Bible Award has become so popular. Teixeira won his first Fielding Bible award of his career this year.

Here are the other Gold Glove winners this year:

American League
C: Matt Wieters, BAL (2nd award)
1B: Mark Teixeira, NYY (5)
2B: Robinson Cano, NYY (2)
3B: Adrian Beltre, TEX (4)
SS: J.J. Hardy, BAL (1)
LF: Alex Gordon, KC (2)
CF: Adam Jones, BAL (2)
RF: Josh Reddick, OAK (1)
P: Tie: Jeremy Hellickson, TB (1); Jake Peavy, CWS (1)

National League
C: Yadier Molina, STL (5)
1B: Adam LaRoche, WAS (1)
2B: Darwin Barney, CHC (1)
3B: Chase Headley, SD (1)
SS: Jimmy Rollins, PHI (4)
LF: Carlos Gonzalez, COL (2)
CF: Andrew McCutchen, PIT (1)
RF: Jason Heyward, ATL (1)
P: Mark Buehrle, MIA (4)

About Rob Abruzzese

Rob Abruzzese created Bronx Baseball Daily in 2008 just before graduating from Brooklyn College. He currently serves BBD as its editor and works as a reporter at the Brooklyn Daily Eagle. Follow Rob on Twitter @RobAbruzzese.
This entry was posted in Yankees News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cano and Teixeira win Gold Glove Awards

  1. Acid1973 says:

    Sad that this award has no credibility anymore – how can Trout not win a Gold Glove in Center Field

  2. Dukie2012 says:

    Maybe this award is a bit skewed year in and year out, but I still love recognition of defense. This is a pretty sweet collection of all this year's winners and their actual gloves. I had no idea Cano used a Spalding glove.

Comments are closed.