No Gold For Cano

Robinson Cano lost the Gold Glove to Boston Red Sox second basemen Dustin Pedroia. When looking at the defense metrics, Pedoria did have a slight advantage over Cano, but I’m still not a fan of the Gold Glove Awards since I feel it’s one gigantic popularity contest. Here are the winners from the 2013 Gold Glove Awards including the number of Gold Gloves they’ve won in their career:

American League
P — R.A. Dickey, Toronto, 1
C — Salvatore Perez, Kansas City, 1
1B — Eric Hosmer, Kansas City, 1
2B — Dustin Pedroia, Boston, 3
SS — J.J. Hardy, Baltimore, 2
3B — Manny Machado, Baltimore, 1
LF — Alex Gordon, Kansas City, 3
CF — Adam Jones, Baltimore, 3
RF — Shane Victorino, Boston, 4

National League
P — Adam Wainwright, St. Louis, 2
C — Yadier Molina, St. Louis, 6
1B — Paul Goldschmidt, Arizona, 1
2B — Brandon Phillips, Cincinnati, 4
SS — Andrelton Simmons, Atlanta, 1
3B — Nolan Arenado, Colorado, 1
LF — Carlos Gonzalez, Colorado, 3
CF — Carlos Gomez, Milwaukee, 1
RF — Gerardo Parra, Arizona, 2

This entry was posted in MLB News and Notes, Yankees News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Gold For Cano

  1. Michael R says:

    All I can say is that if I were putting together a team my 2nd baseman would be Pedroia without a second thought. The guy is a grunt and a winner. A lot like some Yankees of the 90's.

Comments are closed.