Maddux, Glavine and Thomas elected into the Hall of Fame

Greg Maddix

Last year, no one was elected into the Hall of Fame which was a shock and a rarity. This year, three players were elected into the Hall of Fame, and that wasn’t surprising since they were in a class full of talented nominees. Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine and Frank Thomas were elected to be enshrined forever in Cooperstown this year by the BBWAA. Craig Biggio, who finished fourth on the ballot, missed Cooperstown by a mere two votes. Here was how the BBWAA voted (with the percentages):

Greg Maddux, 97.2 percent
Tom Glavine, 91.9 percent
Frank Thomas, 83.7 percent

Craig Biggio, 74.8 percent
Mike Piazza, 62.2 percent
Jack Morris, 61.5 percent
Jeff Bagwell, 54.3 percent
Tim Raines, 46.1 percent
Roger Clemens, 35.4 percent
Barry Bonds, 34.7 percent
Lee Smith, 29.9 percent
Curt Schilling, 29.2 percent
Edgar Martinez, 25.2 percent
Alan Trammell, 20.8 percent
Mike Mussina, 20.3 percent
Jeff Kent, 15.2 percent
Fred McGriff, 11.7 percent
Mark McGwire, 11.0 percent
Larry Walker, 10.2 percent
Don Mattingly, 8.2 percent
Sammy Sosa, 7.2 percent

Jack Morris will fall off the ballot due to being on it too long without being inducted into the Hall of Fame. A few other names that were dropped off the ballot were Rafael Palmero, Moises AlouEric Gagne, Louis Gonzalez and Hideo Nomo. Those players did not receive the maximum 5% of the vote to stay on the ballot next year.

This entry was posted in MLB News and Notes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maddux, Glavine and Thomas elected into the Hall of Fame

  1. Rick says:

    It is clear that these writers allowed bias to be a factor in decision making. Not to take away from the selected players, but voting for first time candidates over other qualified proven players who have been retired for years is a joke. Keep politics out of baseball. I will now look at the hall of fame differently. I will respect the elected players but the process has lost its luster. Look at the list of all stars that were not picked and some dropped from eligibility. Kirby Pucket (Bless his soul) made the Hall, but Don Mattingly gets less than 10%? They have the same stats! Roger Clemens and Morris not even close to being elected? Wow!

  2. Michael R says:

    As one of the elite players of his day it surprises me that Mattingly gets so little respect in the voting.

Comments are closed.