AL and NL Reliever awards to be named after Rivera and Hoffman 2

New York Yankees Mariano Rivera

This is pretty cool and exciting news for any future MLB relief award winner: You can win an award named after Mo.

MLB commissioner Bud Selig has announced that Major League Baseball will honor the two best relievers in the game with the “Mariano Rivera American League Reliever of the Year Award” and the “Trevor Hoffman National League Reliever of the Year Award”. The titles of the awards honor baseball’s all-time saves leader overall (Rivera) and baseball’s all-time saves leader in the National League (Hoffman). Both Hoffman and Rivera spent their entire careers in their respective leagues.

There will be a panel of nine former pitchers that will decide who will get the honors yearly: Rivera, Hoffman, Goose Gossage, Dennis Eckersley, Rollie Fingers, Bruce Sutter, Lee Smith, John Franco and Billy Wagner.

The new awards will replace the “Delivery Man of the Year” award which was only given to one reliever from 2005-2013. Following the announcement, the commissioner released the following statement:

“Both Mariano and Trevor represented our sport magnificently on and off the mound and earned the universal respect of our fans in their legendary careers. I believe it is appropriate to redefine an existing award in honor of their contributions to Baseball, and I am delighted that many of the most decorated relievers in history will select the winners.”

2 thoughts on “AL and NL Reliever awards to be named after Rivera and Hoffman

    • mlblogsnewyorkyankees13

      But Trevor Hoffman was one of the best relievers in the game. I think he deserves some recognition. Besides, it was his record Mo had to beat.

Comments are closed.